Proposals to change new organism status

The status of ‘new organisms’ has been removed for five species already present in New Zealand.

The organisms are:

  • Cybocephalus sp. (beetle)
  • Harmonia axyridis (ladybird)
  • Aridelus rufotestaceus (wasp)
  • Komagataeibacter xylinus (bacterium)
  • Listeria virus P100 (bacteriophage)

They are no longer regulated under the Hazardous Substances and New Organisms (HSNO) Act, therefore no approval is required from the EPA to work with these organisms.