There are 17 projects listed in the Act that may be considered by expert consenting panels.

These project overviews are taken from Schedule 2 of the COVID-19 Recovery (Fast-track Consenting) Act. 

Lodged and in progress

Papakāinga developments

The addition of 24 dwellings to an existing papakāinga in Kaitaia.

Papakura to Pukekōhe rail electrification

To electrify and upgrade the North Island Main Trunk Line between Papakura and Pukekōhe stations.

Decided - approved projects 

Waitohi Picton Ferry Precinct redevelopment

Upgrades to the Picton Ferry Terminal Precinct and surrounding infrastructure, including works on land and in the coastal marine area.   

Matawii water storage reservoir

Construction of water storage and distribution infrastructure in Kaikohe.

Papakāinga developments

Housing developments in Rāpaki, Christchurch.

Queenstown arterials project

To construct, maintain and operate a new Queenstown Town Centre urban arterial road.

Te Ara Tupua - Ngauranga to Petone shared path

To construct a new shared path between Ngauranga and Petone. 

Projects awaiting developments

Northern Pathway - Westhaven to Akoranga shared path

To construct a new shared path between Westhaven in central Auckland and Akoranga on the North Shore.

Papakāinga developments

Housing developments in

  • Kaitaia
  • Taranaki.

Papakura to Drury South State Highway 1 improvements

Upgrade of state highway 1 between Papakura and Drury South, including new walking and cycling facilities and provision for planned rail improvements at Drury. 

Projects unlikely to proceed with fast-track consenting 

Britomart Station eastern end upgrade

Modifications to the eastern end of the existing Britomart station.

Te Pā Tāhuna residential development

Construction of four multi-storey buildings containing residential units and retail space in Queenstown.

Unitec residential development

Residential development stages within the Wairaka Precinct in Point Chevalier, Auckland. 

Wellington Metro upgrade programme

This project will consist of a group of smaller projects:

  • upgrading the Featherston Station
  • level crossing upgrades
  • upgrade and construction of rail storage yards at Wellington, Masterton and Levin train stations
  • establishment and operation of a gravel/ballast excavations site
  • replacement of Bridges 56 and 63 on the Wairarapa line
  • construction of passing loops at Maymorn and Carterton
  • resignalling works.